Search our websites
and 37 other
UK Natural History sites


SBIS / SNS Recording Bursaries in conjunction with the Field Studies Council

      The SNS and the Suffolk Biodiversity Information Service in conjunction with the Field Studies Centre at Flatford Mill are again offering Recording Bursaries to assist people with the cost of attending identification courses.

Suffolk Biological Recording Bursary

      The Suffolk Biodiversity Information Service (SBIS) and Suffolk Naturalists Society (SNS) offer these bursaries to support individuals who wish to attend some of the Natural History courses offered at the Field Studies Council‘s Flatford Mill Field Study Centre. These courses will provide people with the skills and experience to identify and record Suffolk wildlife.

      The bursary will provide for up to 100% of the non-residential fees for courses though Successful applicants will still need to pay for any accommodation booked at FSC Flatford Mill or nearby B&B if they require accommodation for the duration of the course.

      The bursary is controlled by the SBIS Board with funding partners and the fund is administered by the Field Studies Council (FSC). The SBIS and funding partners decide each year as to which courses at FSC Flatford Mill will be eligible for support, depending upon sufficient funds being available at the time of application.

Bursary Criteria:

Applicants must:

      Be over 25 at the time the course starts (proof of age required) and not in fulltime education.

      The bursary is not available to those in full-time employment whose employers pay the course fee

      If the bursaries are oversubscribed, preference will be given to applicants who are members of SNS (£15 for 1 year subscription)
      The bursary is dependent on sufficient funds being available at the time

      In order to obtain a bursary for the full amount of the non-residential fee, the applicant must submit a given number of records within 3 months of the course completing

      For records to be accepted towards the total required; records submitted must meet the reasonable requirements of the SBIS (in terms of species/site diversity) which will differ between species groups and survey technique.

      Record acceptance is at the discretion of the SBIS and SNS. If you have any queries relating to recording please talk to the staff at the SBIS.

Records must:
      Come from a diverse range of sites.
      Be of differing taxa
      Any records supplied must come from within the county boundary

The Process:

      Contact FSC Flatford Mill to check on availability of the course Complete application form and submit with FSC booking form

      Applicants will be informed if their application is successful before they have to pay any fees

      Applicants pay for the accommodation fee and 50% of the non-residential fee

      Applicants open a recording account at Suffolk Biological Recording Online

      Applicant submits the required number of records to the SBIS in electronic form via spreadsheet or Suffolk Biological Recording Online

      Upon the approval of the SBIS, the FSC refunds the 50% non-residential fee to the applicant

Eligible Courses in 2018:

Click on the course name to go straight to the FSC website & find out about any course

Course Dates Tutor No. Records Required
Ecology, Conservation, Surveying and Recording of British Amphibians and Reptiles

Fri 13 April - Sun 15 April 2018

Duncan Sweeting

40 by end July

The Top 20 Flower Families

Fri 18 May - Mon 21 May 2018

Alanna Cooper

100 by end August

The Top 20 Flower Families

Fri 25 May - Mon 28 May

Alanna Cooper

100 by end August

Identifying Freshwater Invertebrates for Biological Surveying and Recording

Tue 29 May - Fri 01 June 2018

Adrian Chalkley

60 by end August

Trees and Tree Identification in Summer

Fri 01 June - Sun 03 June

Alanna Cooper

40 by end August

Introducing Grass Identification and Ecology

Fri 01 June - Sun 03 June

Jonny Stone

60 by end August

Clovers and Vetches

Fri 22 June - Sun 24 June

Ros Bennett

50 by end September

Identifying Dragonflies and Damselflies

Fri 29 June - Sun 01 July

Steve Cham

50 by end September

Introduction to Hoverflies

Mon 02 July

John Biglin

50 by end September

Identifying Moths and Butterflies

Fri 06 July - Sun 08 July

Sheila Wright

60 by end September

Solitary Bees: Identification and Ecology

Fri 13 July - Fri 20 July

Ian Cheeseborough

40 by end October

Trees and Shrubs in Summer

Fri 13 July - Mon 16 July

Matt Parratt

40 by end October

Introduction to Grasshoppers and Bushcrickets

Sat 21 July

John Biglin

40 by end October

Identifying Plants: Using Botanical Keys with Confidence

Fri 27 July - Mon 30 July

Alanna Cooper

100 by end October

Micro Moths

Fri 10 August - Mon 13 August

Dave Grundy

60 by end November

Docks and Goosefoots

Fri 10 August - Sun 12 August

Ros Bennett

40 by end November

Identifying Difficult Plants

Mon 13 August - Thu 16 August

Ros Bennett

50 by end November

Identifying Lichens at Intermediate Level

Fri 24 August - Sun 26 August

John Skinner

50 by end November

Trees and Tree Identification: The Challenge of Early Winter

Fri 23 November - Mon 26 November

Ros Bennett

40 by end February 2019

Don't Forget the SNS Bursary Programme for Research Projects

      Remember Suffolk Naturalists' Society also offer bursaries to help members of the public to become actively involved in studying the flora, fauna and geology of the county. So if you are planning a project of your own please read about our other bursaries here.